1967 marks the 50th anniversary of Richard Petty’s incredible season in NASCAR.
Winning 27 races out of 48, a record that will never be broken. He also set another NASCAR record that will never be broken, winning ten straight races that season.
Prior to 1972, NASCAR would run anywhere from 40 to about 50 races each season but when Winston started sponsoring  the series, the schedule was reduced from 31 to 36 races.
By the time Petty retired after the 1992 season, he was the first of three drivers to win seven championships and his record of winning 200 races mostly likely will hold up.